Advisory Board

David A. Thomas is the 12th President of Morehouse College. H. Naylor Fitzhugh Professor Emeritus, Harvard Business School. Former Dean of Georgetown McDonough School of Business. Dr. Thomas is an expert in organizational behavior.

Craig Steven Wilder

Craig Steven Wilder is the Barton L. Weller Professor of History at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Professor Wilder’s most recent book is Ebony & Ivy: Race, Slavery, and the Troubled History of America’s Universities (New York: Bloomsbury, 2013), which Kirkus Reviews named one of the best nonfiction books of the year.

Whitney Tymas

Whitney Tymas is a political advisor and formerly a staff attorney at the National District Attorneys Association. She also served as the director of the Race and Prosecution Project at the Vera Institute for Justice, and as an Assistant Commonwealth’s Attorney in Richmond, Virginia.

Jonathan Abady

Jonathan Abady is a civil rights lawyer and a partner at Emery Celli Brinckerhoff & Abady LLC. Mr. Abady was on the team of lawyers who helped free Meek Mill, the Roc Nation recording artist wrongfully imprisoned in Philadelphia. Mr. Abady has also litigated significant voting-rights cases in the 2000, 2008, and 2016 elections.

Karthik Balasubramanian

Karthik Balasubramanian is an information systems professor at Howard University School of Business and veteran of numerous political campaigns for the past 12 years. Dr. Balasubramanian leads a talented team of volunteers and organizers as the co-founder and director of BlockPower.

Organizing Team

Kenyon Smutherman

Kenyon Smutherman was born in the Carolinas and has a deep appreciation for engaging with new ideas, learning from others, and working to uplift those harmed by oppressive structures.

Joe Peek

Joseph Peek has always been one to take up a cause and give voice to the importance of peace as a musician, artist, and teacher for 20 years. Increasing voter participation in the Black community is something Joe closely believes in and is dear to his heart.

Solana Patterson-Ramos
Solana Patterson-Ramos is a political activist born and raised in Milwaukee. She has more than 10 years of experience in community outreach focusing on youth, LGBTQ, and civic engagement in the Black Community.

Marcus Miller

Marcus Miller uses his experience as a creative problem-solver and effective communicator to influence strategy and advance progressive change. From his work to end homelessness and to support and mentor youth from low-income families, he’s a firm believer in the power of dialogue and the right to vote.

Chelsea Leger

Chelsea Leger has worked and volunteered for campaigns and organizations throughout America and the world since 2012. She is passionate about civic education and engagement, and she’s committed to doing her part in ensuring that all voices are heard and represented.

Carolyn McClain Johnson

Carolyn McClain Johnson is a former educator born and raised in the South. She’s a natural organizer with years of experience in education, union, political, and social organizing. With a deep understanding for social injustice, her motto: The Time Is Now! — VOTE!!